THE SUNSETS!!                                             ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Sun, Sep 08 – Wed, Sep 11, 2019

David C said....

The house and property are better than the beautiful pictures. It is well equipped and comfortable both inside and outside. The location is so beautiful it is difficult to put into words. You will wake up every morning in awe of the view and what the area has to offer. However, it is watching the sunset each night from this gorgeous and secluded location that will leave you amazed. It is a magnificent place to stay and my wife and I had a truly memorable and wonderful holiday.

09/14/2019 at 6:29 PM

Heavenly and Magical                                     ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Fri, Sep 20 – Sun, Sep 22, 2019

Joanna m said .....

If you are looking for privacy, beauty, nature, and peace, this is your spot. Absolutely stunning. Ana is such a warm and caring Host. The property is incredible, with views of the ocean as far as the eye can see. What a gorgeous home. We can't wait to book our next stay.

09/27/2019 at 8:17 PM

Big Sur Beautiful Ocean View Private Stone House Estate 

Review #27990574                                           ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ 

Date of arrival - August 3, 2019

We have stayed in a number of VRBO’s on the Pacific coast of the U.S. and our family felt that our stay in the Big Sur Stone House in August 2019 was the best. It is perfectly located about half way up a mountain with a superb view of the Big Sur coastline, yet close enough to the ocean to hear the distant surf. The house sits on 40 acres and is very private. It was very clean and well equipped for all of our needs. Wildlife in the yard included lots of cottontail rabbits, squirrels and birds. Beaches and hiking trails in the redwoods are nearby. Ana, the owner, was delightful, very courteous and helpful. It was definitely a five star experience.

Peaceful Ocean View Home                           ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ 

We spent 5 nights in this beautiful home. We were there with our adult children and their significant others and it is perfect for 3 couples, yet we each had our own space. We were able to hike and go to the shore, and spent time at the property enjoying the outdoor features. We all like to cook and brought food to predominantly eat and cook at the home and enjoyed eating while overlooking the Pacific. If you need to relax, and get away from it all, go to this home. Ana, our host is very welcoming and helpful.

Submitted: June 30, 2018 | Stayed: June 2018

Fri, Aug 30 – Mon, Sep 02, 2019                            ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Lisa M said...Secluded diamond nestled on the cliffs above the Big Sur coast with a warm and wonderful owner, Ana 

The Stone House is a phenomenal property. Its owner, Ana, is a gem. The Stone House's position above the cliffs on the Big Sur coast is spectacular: It is hidden from the world, yet the vistas of the water from its perch are expansive and sweeping. We woke up each morning to take our coffee at one of the many patios, and to contemplate the light on the water and the retreat of the fog. In the afternoons, we practiced yoga and watched spouting whales from the patio. In the evening, we gathered near the stone bathing tub to toast the sun dropping into the surf. We ate dinners en plein air with the company of music emanating from the impressive music collection in the library. At night, with an inky sky hosting the swath of the milky way and a billion stars, we stargazed. The building is expertly and ingeniously constructed to be off the grid -- providing every convenience via a solar array (with back-up generators) and a private, clear water spring. The owner/architect thought of everything ... so that there is privacy, light, warmth, and comfort. (Examples include the skylights, radiant floors, comfort controls in each of the three separate suites, and a fireplace.) The building is a series of three buildings: the first has a kitchen, dining area, bedroom and bathroom. The second has a library/family room (with a mind blowing collection of videos, CDs and vinyl -- as well as an impressive collection of books indicating a well-traveled and intelligent reader). The weather was gorgeous while we were there, but if anyone were ever to stay inside, he/she would have the joy of reading such a gem of a collection. There is a a 1/2 bath connected to the library, and then an en suite bedroom and bathroom. The final building hosts a third bedroom with a view that pours out over the slope and across the ocean -- no reason to get up in the morning! -- and another bathroom. The grounds expand for 40 acres... with easy access to hiking trails, and the beach is but 1.2 miles away. The Stone House is perfection -- locale, spirit, comfort, and opportunity. As phenomenal as the place is, Ana (the co-owner) was a highlight. She provided us with a flower bouquet, fresh lettuce, and herbs from her garden, as well as a bottle of wine upon arrival. She explained things clearly, and then left us in complete privacy. She was available via phone or email, but we didn't need anything! Ana is generous, kind, thorough, and professional. We'll be back!

09/04/2019 at 4:00 PM    

 

Oct 16 - Oct 19, 2019                                               ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Jesseca said...I’ve stayed at close to 30 different Airbnb’s since 2015, and none have been as special as Big Sur Stone House. The house and location are beyond amazing. The property is very private, with views of the ocean from every part of the house. It’s right off of Highway 1, but you can’t really see or hear cars, just the sound of waves, and uninterrupted view of the Pacific. We felt like the only people around for miles. The house had everything we needed, and Ana would help in any way to make your stay perfect. We did not want to leave the house once there. We stocked up on groceries before arrival, and used the well-equipped kitchen a lot. There are parks nearby, but there are trails to the water and up the mountain right from the property. I know we will be back, we miss it already, and Ana is a sweetheart.

Reviewer location : Kansas

Date of arrival : 10/21/17

We have been visiting Big Sur for 6 years, 3 years at the Stone House. This is by far-THE BEST place-home-location around. 

Thank you to our host for making it possible for us to come for inspiration and relation and fun! There is no other place like it. Can’t really say enough about it. It’s heavenly!

We will return next year! The weather was PERFECT and all accommodations were excellent!

Views, Elegance, Accommodation 

★ ★ ★ ★ ★ 

What a tranquil getaway in Big Sur. My (now) husband and I stayed here for the weekend of our wedding in Big Sur and couldn't have chosen a better spot. Secluded off the highway with nothing but expansive views, we also enjoyed the privacy of being apart from our wedding guests and having some time to ourselves before and after the wedding. Ana, the homeowner, is the most hospitable host, and made herself available for anything we needed during our stay. However, there wasn't a thing to be needed. The house was stocked with shampoo and soap in every bathroom, plenty of linens, and even the fridge and pantry were stocked with the necessities for cooking, and snacking if you didn't grocery shop before you came. A bowl of home-grown fruits sat on the counter for us when we arrived, picked right off of the property. 
This was one of our greatest stays in Big Sur, we only wish we could have stayed longer. We will be back. 
Thank you Ana. 

Reviewer location 

Venice, CA 

Date of arrival 

September 2, 2017

 Judy S. said...Awesome Wedding Venue             ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ 

May 6, 2016 

My son was recently married on this property and the setup and the natural beauty of the ocean and surrounding hills was awesome! It was a small and intimate wedding of around 25 guests. The house was perfect for the private preparations of the bride and groom, immediate family and the bridal party prior to the ceremony. Pictures just don't do this property justice. It is more awesome in person! Ana, the property owner and host was exceptional in helping with wedding preparations and was soo accommodating the entire day. I highly recommend this property to everyone that wants to "really" experience the Big Sur area, the Pacific Coast Highway and all of it's surrounding beauty. It is also an exceptional spot for a wedding venue. I can't wait to see all the incredible photo's taken during the wedding celebration. This property has been used numerous times for weddings, small and large. The weekend after our son's wedding, Ana was hosting a wedding for 150 people. I highly recommend this property for all NATURE LOVERS!

Recommended for: People with Disabilities,  Families with Young Children,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Adventure Seekers,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers 

Kathy H. said....

Jan 29, 2016                                                ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ 

Thank you for a wonderful home and view to celebrate our Baby sister’s 60th Birthday!

She had the back house and felt like a queen. The house is wonderful and the wine was so special. We loved sitting for cocktails after a long day of hiking and whale watching. 

It was a lovely holiday! Loved your book collection. Could spend a month here just reading and viewing.

rex l. said...

Jan 29, 2016                                              ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ 

Beautiful, Quiet, Relaxing

Date of Stay
January 10, 2016

Home and property are even prettier than pictures. Well maintained and very clean. Enjoyed listening to music from large vinyl collection and reading books from library. Well equiped kitchen. Each bedroom is in separate building makes the home work well for up to 3 couples but privacy makes really nice for a couple. Owner is extremely nice and very helpful. Looking forward to staying her again!!!

Cindi K. said...

Oct 20, 2015                                               ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ 

Breathtaking! Absolutely beautiful and comfortable

Date of Stay
October 16, 2015

There are'n enough words here to describe the amazing and comfortable stay we experienced during our time in Big Sur at this gorgeous Stone House. So many great accomodations along with the peace and serenity of the location . Ana was very pleasant and helpful , she was so very sweet in answering our questions. This is a home to dream of , we will reserve this home again. Thank you for making your home a rental for us to enjoy.

Janet P. said...

Aug 18, 2015                                                 ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ 

Something for everyone/enchantment for all

Date of Stay
August 14, 2015

Helpful votes:1/1

What do you do when two people with very limited mobility are traveling with two energetic walkers? I had high hopes for the Stone House because it is all on one level, has gorgeous views for the stay-at-homes, plenty of nearby trails for the walkers, and it is reasonably near anything we might want to see, do or eat on the central coast, including the Hearst Castle which has a great accessible tour. The Stone House vastly exceeded our expectations. It felt secluded and private but it was right off Hwy 1. The layout was perfect for two couples-- plenty of privacy and plenty of comfortable common space. Our hosts give new meaning to the word gracious with an incredibly well stocked larder at our disposal, a lovely bottle of Pinot Noir to greet us, a fascinating library, CD and DVD collection, a walkie talkie in case we needed something, plenty of hiking guides, sound advice and genuine warmth. They have given a great deal of thought to what guests might need to relax in comfort. Discovering and using all the wonderful things they had laid in for our enjoyment and delight was like a treasure hunt. Our favorites: the binoculars for watching the whales and grazing cattle, the chia seeds, fancy canned salmon and 2different kinds of granola, the beach towels and chairs, the outdoor bathtub and the lavender growing all around which our host Ana suggested we add to the bath. The beds were so comfy, the bath towels so plentiful and fluffy, the gas grill so easy to use. But the best things of all were the exquisite sunsets and the clean, sweet, fresh air. There is no A/C and it was so liberating not to need it, even on the hottest days of summer. My asthmatic spouse who has lived all summer in the air conditioned indoors was able to sleep with the windows wide open and it felt great. Thank you Mark and Ana for your inspired hospitality and for creating such a magical place. We hope to be back soon!

Recommended for: People with Disabilities,  Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Adventure Seekers,  Romantic Getaway,  Families with Teenagers 

Please check more reviews at the website below ;
http://www.vrbo.com/353400 
 

Spectacular property with incredible views and great location.                                                        ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ 

I looked for a while to find a place to stay in the heart of Big Sur and was so excited to find Big Sur Stone House. It's an incredible gem with magnificent views and excellent rooms. We loved the nice kitchen and fully stocked cooking utensils for making great meals every night. You feel like you have the whole coast and hills to yourself as there are no neighbors nearby and very few other tourists stop on this stretch of coast. My husband and I are avid trail runners and we loved exploring the trails on the ridge above the property and the close access to Vicente Trail. We summited Cone Peak on a crystal clear day and returned to the house for relaxation and an outdoor soak in the stone tub. Superb. 

Date of arrival 

December 26, 2018 

Romantic get away with hubby for 4 days.

Left on Oct 5, 2018 for a stay in Oct 2017                 ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ 

Liberal, Kansas 

This is an absolute fantastic home to rent! It is so unique you must stay here to be able to take in all the great rooms and views! There is a meditation area that is absolutely lovely and peaceful with amazing views. Actually the house and surrounding grounds are so peaceful and secluded. This October will make it our 5th year to stay. There are many hikes around the area and along the coastal highway. Many unique eateries , Nepenthe, Tree Bones etc. Ana is such a warm, sweet and lovely hostess. We have grown to love her as well as her home!

Magical spot!                                                    ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

I could have stayed here forever! The view from this magical spot is even better than the pictures suggest. With an unobstructed view of the Pacific, one can sit on the patio forever. The house is extremely comfortable -- off the grid but entirely self sufficient -- with very comfortable beds, nice kitchen, well furnished, etc. The grounds are well tended, with lemon trees and even a fig tree. I would come back in a second! 

Reviewer location                                                   Date of arrival 

Philadelphia, PA, USA                                         August 6, 2018 

 

 

Magical wedding in the best setting ever!       ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ 

The only word to describe our experience with this property is breathtaking. We held an intimate wedding on the property in early May 2018. Ana is one of the most responsive people we have ever interacted with. We required a lot of assistance with finding vendors, getting equipment shipped to the house for our destination wedding, and much more. Ana was always extremely accomodating and was just as excited for our wedding as we were. We will be returning from Virginia to celebrate anniversaries here in the future!

Submitted: May 28, 2018 | Stayed: May 2018

Reviewer location : Guam, USA                                     ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ 

Date of arrival : October 10, 2017

“We traveled as a group of four celebrating our sisters 25th birthday and my wedding anniversary. Our initial vacation plan was to Napa, but due to the fires, the day we landed, we had to make alternative plans. Every hotel, resort winery south of Napa was already booked. Because we didn’t want to stay in the city, we came across the Stone House in Big Sur. Within 10 mins of requesting, Ana responded and we were booked. We arrived later than anticipated due to road closure, but as late as we were, Ana welcomed us with open arms and she even had flowers for my sisters birthday and our wedding anniversary. We arrived late in the evening so we didn’t get to see too much of outside just yet, but the insides of the house were so cozy and a perfect fit for families or group travels! When we awoke the next day, we felt as if we were in some kind of movie. The view, the place, the ambience was just breath taking. It truly is a gem and we were so happy to have found it!, we were pretty much off the grid and enjoying quality time with each other without being consumed by our phones. She had a record player where we played old school music and even played bored games! You have absolutely no cell service but she has a home line that we used to call our kids etc... her home is well stocked with the essentials for cooking, bathing and doing laundry. We even utilized the outside tub which was nice!!! We recommend that you buy food and drinks prior to your stay as the only grocery store nearby is kind of pricey. Other then that, we enjoyed her home grown lemons and fruits around her house. She’s also equipped with allergy bags, blow dryers, towels and cable! If you’re looking for a place to enjoy the company of those you love without being bothered, this is your spot. Breathtaking views and a relaxed environment. We created amazing memories here and we can’t wait to come back!”

August 25, 2016                                           ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ 

Charles, said..

My GF booked a few nights here to celebrate her birthday. It is Beautiful! The Stunning view of the Pacific Coast and setting sun are available from every room, The house sits. There are beautiful gardens and several places outside to relax and enjoy the view. The accommodations were well thought out. Despite being completely off grid. There was no compromise on comfort. There was an interesting assortment of CD's, records, books and movies. The house was peaceful and welcoming. There are many sights in the area we combed the beaches and brought back Sandollars and Jade. We picked fresh lemons and herbs, The kitchen was nice we cooked every night. I highly recommend it. We all loved staying there and did not want to leave. We felt at home as soon as i got there…

Monika M. said...

Dec 2, 2015

Amazing!                                    ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

Date of Stay
November 26, 2015

I've stayed at a bunch of vacation rentals all over california - and this has been THE BEST experience I've ever had. Ana was amazing to work with on email prior to the booking (so sweet and responded quickly) and she even greeted us when we arrived to give us a tour and a complimentary bottle of wine. I've never had any owner do that! Yet, she gave us all the privacy we needed once we were there. This was the perfect getaway for me & my in-laws to relax for a weekend. So much privacy within the cabin rooms for 2 couples!! Everything in the place is super clean, updated and beautiful. I wish I had stayed longer than 2 nights. The hiking trail was convenient, as was visiting Sand Dollar beach. We were going to drive further north into Big Sur to explore, but decided against it, as we just wanted to stay at the cabin to relax, read & enjoy the place & the views. Her library was huge! I didn't even have to bring my own book. This place was so worth it. I can not wait to book this place again! The only animal we encountered & I felt so bad, was this poor little bird that one evening kept flying into the window of the TV cabin. I don't know if the bird was sick or what, so we closed the blinds in hopes that it would prevent her from wanting to fly inside. It definitely helped, and I don't know what happened to the bird. Poor little thing. 

clstandish said...

Apr 22, 2015                                         ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ 

Big Sur Stone House is a KEEPER!!

Date of Stay
April 14, 2015

Helpful votes:2/2

Celebrating a big birthday and what to give someone that really wants nothing, but absolutely adores ocean views? A vacation at the Big Sur Stone House! What a WONDERFUL time we had. Ana met us at the house, provided us with a nice bottle of wine and gave us a thorough tour and told us to make sure we, "made ourselves at home". Mark's extensive album collection (that would be LP's to us old folks!) was absolutely amazing. That's what my partner keyed in on and for the next 3 days played so many albums and was just in 7th heaven!! Then there are the views!! Seating everywhere, ocean views from everywhere on the property and sitting in a chair with a fine glass of Cabernet, watching the sun set over the glistening waters of the Pacific Ocean, listing to vintage Beatles...well, there just isn't anything better! I also arranged for massages to be given out on one of the landings on the property, and listening to the waves crash against the rocks, the birds tweeting about how much THEY loved the area and just relaxing, as the world passed us by! Ahhhhhh. And if that weren't enough, each morning and evening, we ran ourselves a steamy bath in the OUTDOOR soaking tub and sat there (again) watching the ocean and (in the evening only mind you), nursing that lovely glass of Cabernet as the sun set beneath the ridge line. Again, did I mention, ahhhhhhhh. Thank you Ana and Mark for such a lovely time and money well spent at your home away from home.....the Big Sur Stone House. We will see you again!

Recommended for: Sightseeing,  Girls Getaway,  Adventure Seekers,  Age 55+,  Romantic Getaway